[Book Review] Visual Quickstart Guide – Unix and Linux

visual_quickstart_guide_unix_linux

I need to refresh my knowledge about basic commands in Linux. I browse some reference books but I do not want to read detailed information. So, I try to find some linux pocket books. I get ‘Visual Quickstart Guide – Unix and Linux (Fifth Edition)‘ by Deborah S. Ray and Eric J. Ray.

Overall, yeah.. it is not for advanced users or one who is looking detailed information. It lists only common commands that we can use in daily administration tasks. Those are:

  • How to work with Directories and Files (e.g. ls, mkdir, find, touch, tar, gzip, etc)
  • How to manipulate files and control their ownership and permissions
  • How to write basic scripts
  • How to edit files using vim and nano
  • How to sending and reading emails
  • How to access internet (e.g. using ssh, telnet, ftp, etc)
  • How to get information about the system
  •  
    Beyond that, this book also provides references about commands, flags and arguments. Those can be used as your handy utilities when you do your tasks.

    [Book Review] Visual Quickstart Guide – Unix and Linux

    Leave a comment